Home Page


Church of England Primary School

Welcome to


Church of England Primary School

'A Community of faith where we believe, achieve and grow together'

Our Governing Body

Who are our Governors?

The Governing Body At Barwick-in-Elmet Church of England Primary School

Chair of Governors Rachel Holmes  Vice Chair of Governors Nick White  Clerk Barbara Walker

The constitution of the governing body is:


1 x Local Authority (LA) governor, recommended by the LA and approved by the governing body

2 Diocese Foundation Governors recommended by the diocese

2 Parent Governors, formally elected through a ballot of parents unless the election is uncontested

1 Staff Governor, formally elected by staff employed at school

7 x Co-opted governors, nominated and appointed by the governing body

2x Associate governors, nominated and appointed by the governing body


The governing body operates with the following committees:

Strategic Committee responsible for determining a strategic vision and direction for the school. Committee Chair Rachel Holmes

Resources Committee responsible for staffing including the appointment and role of the SENCO, equality and diversity, finance, property management, health and safety and nutritional standards. Committee Chair  TBC 

 Teaching, Learning & Pupil Support Committee responsible for teaching and learning matters including target setting, standards and achievement, SEN (including reporting annually on the success of the SEN policy), monitoring teaching and learning and curriculum provision and ensuring that the governing body is represented at school improvement discussions. Also responsible for behaviour, safeguarding, attendance, children's spiritual, moral, social and cultural development, children, parent and staff voice, extra-curricula activities, cluster and other partnerships.  Committee Chair TBC 



Chair of Governors

Rachel Holmes

Vice Chair of Governors

Nick White 


Parent Governors

Jonny Ross  (term of office 17/03/2020-16/03/2024) 




Foundation Governors

Rev Kathryn Elliott (term of office 01/06/2019 - 31/05/2023)

Sarah Drury (term of office 22/09/2021-22/09/2025)


Co Opted Governors

Rachel Holmes (term of office 28/04/2015- 27/04/2023)

Alyson Brown (term of office 01/07/2018 - 30/06/2022)

Phil Edwards (term of office 17/03/2020-16/03/2024)

Louisa Booth (term of office 06/06/2020 - 05/06/2024)

Nick White (term of office 10/11/2020 - 09/11/2024)

John Wright (term of office 22/09/2021-22/09/2025)


Local Authority Governor



Staff Governor

Hannah Fox  (term of office 22/09/2021-22/09/2025)


Associate Governors

Darryl Roycroft (term of office 01/09/2016 - 31/08/2023)



The Governors of the school have a range of duties and  powers determined by Government legislation. Working in partnership with the Headteacher the Governors meet as a full   committee or in sub committees to discuss key issues, and make decisions. Members of the Governing Body are unpaid volunteers who have varied backgrounds and educational  experiences. They are all committed to working together to ensure the children at Barwick-in-Elmet Church of England Primary School receive a full, balanced and enriched  education. They are responsible for promoting high  standards of educational achievement; managing the school budget; appointing staff; establishing and reviewing performance  management of staff; setting targets for pupil achievement and monitoring progress on the School Development and Improvement Plan. The school appreciates the  support and hard work of all our governors.



Statutory Information and Register of Business Interests for school Governors 2021

Governor Attendance 2021 2022

Governing Body Impact Statement 2020 2021

Written Statement of Behaviour Principles 2020

Minutes from Governing Body Meetings

Home Page


Church of England Primary School

Find Us

Find Us

Click forAttendance


  • Whole School 97%
  • Nursery 97%
  • Foundation 96%
  • Year 1 99%
  • Year 2 98%
  • Year 3 98%
  • Year 4 98%
  • Year 5 90%
  • Year 6 97%
1 5 2 1 4 4 Visitors