Home Page


Church of England Primary School

Welcome to


Church of England Primary School

'A Community of faith where we believe, achieve and grow together'

EYFS Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage


The EYFS is a very important stage in a child’s life as it helps prepare children future learning and successes.

Children’s early years experiences should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs. 

Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential.  Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences before the age of five will have a major impact on their future life chances.


The EYFS framework explains how and what children will be learning to support their healthy development and provide the foundation children need to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up.



The Early years Foundation Stage is based upon four principles:

• The Unique Child- At Barwick-in-Elmet Church of England Primary School, we recognise that every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured. We recognise that children develop in individual ways and at varying rates.


Positive Relationships- At Barwick-in-Elmet Church of England Primary School, we recognise that children learn to be strong and independent from secure relationships and aim to develop caring, respectful relationships with children and their families.


Enabling Environments- t Barwick-in-Elmet Church of England Primary School, we recognise that the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development. Our staff carefully plan the learning environment, planning provision enhancements to further develop and enhance children’s learning experiences.


Learning and Development- At Barwick-in-Elmet Church of England Primary School, our Nursery and Reception classrooms provide a safe and secure learning environment for the children to freely explore. Our provision areas are set up to encourage independence, allowing children to self-select their resources for learning.


Learning and Development 

Children will learn skills, acquire new knowledge and demonstrate their understanding through the 7 areas of learning and development.

Prime Areas:  

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development


Specific Areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design


For more information, follow the links below. 

Home Page


Church of England Primary School

Find Us

Find Us

Click forAttendance


  • Whole School 97%
  • Nursery 96%
  • Foundation 100%
  • Year 1 98%
  • Year 2 98%
  • Year 3 97%
  • Year 4 96%
  • Year 5 93%
  • Year 6 99%
1 6 1 6 9 8 Visitors